Mary J. Blige – Strength of a Woman [iTunes Plus AAC M4A] (2017)

After investigating UK club culture on 2014’s The London Sessions, Mary J. Blige returns to hip-hop soul to process her broken marriage. Survivor’s spirit, regal horns, and a bravura verse from Kanye West combine on invigorating opener “Love Yourself,” while her F-you vocal outshines a supporting cast of Missy Elliott, DJ Khaled, and Migos’ Quavo on “Glow Up.” Turning pain into compelling music has long been Blige’s trademark, but her choice of inventive producers—particularly KAYTRANADA on “Telling the Truth”’s glitchy soul—keeps pushing her sound forward.

Mary J. Blige – Strength of a Woman + Extras


  1. Love Yourself (feat. Kanye West)
  2. Thick of It
  3. Set Me Free
  4. It’s Me
  5. Glow Up (feat. Quavo, DJ Khaled & Missy Elliott)
  6. The Naked Truth
  7. U + Me (Love Lesson)
  8. Indestructible
  9. Thank You
  10. Survivor
  11. Find the Love
  12. Smile (feat. Prince Charlez)
  13. Telling the Truth (feat. KAYTRANADA & BADBADNOTGOOD)
  14. Strength of a Woman
  15. Love in the Middle
  16. Hello Father


U + Me (Love Lesson) – Single

Love Yourself (Remix) [feat. A$AP Rocky] – Single


Submit a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s