Janet Jackson – Number Ones [iTunes Plus AAC M4A + M4V] (2009)

Number Ones replaces Design of a Decade, released 14 years prior. Excepting the new song “Make Me” (hard neo-disco/funk excellence), each song here was indeed a number one hit on Billboard’s various charts, though “Got ‘Til It’s Gone” sneaks through a side door via the Japanese charts. One number one, oddly, is missing: “So Excited,” a perfectly fine, 2006 single which topped the club chart. This set is more thorough with 1986-1996, too, adding Herb Alpert‘s “Diamonds” — which would not have been out of place on Control, given Jam & Lewis’ production and Janet‘s precedence over Alpert‘s trumpet — as well as “The Best Things in Life Are Free” (with Luther Vandross) — all the smashes off janet., and “Scream” (with her brother). Say what you want about Janet peaking with Jam & Lewis during the latter half of the ’80s — to be fair, the argument is valid — but she did rack up a career’s worth of solid hits during the years that followed. Even if they were not as sonically innovative and lacked the same amount of pop appeal of the Control/Rhythm Nation-era singles, they clearly made a significant impact and have aged well. Four of the songs first compiled on Design of a Decade appear in slightly different forms, which could make a minor difference for the fans that are most hardcore. This includes the 7″ video version of “Alright,” the album version of “Control,” the “short solo single version” of “Black Cat,” and what is likely the single edit of “Rhythm Nation.”

Janet Jackson – Number Ones + Extras


Disc 1

  1. What Have You Done For Me Lately
  2. Nasty
  3. When I Think of You
  4. Control
  5. Let’s Wait Awhile
  6. The Pleasure Principle
  7. Diamonds (with Herb Alpert)
  8. Miss You Much
  9. Rhythm Nation
  10. Escapade
  11. Alright
  12. Come Back To Me
  13. Black Cat
  14. Love Will Never Do Without You
  15. The Best Things in Life Are Free (with Lither Vandross, BBD and Ralph Tresvant)
  16. That’s The Way Love Goes

Disc 2

  1. If
  2. Again
  3. Because of Love
  4. Any Time, Any Place (R. Kelly Remix)
  5. Scream (with Michael Jackson)
  6. Runaway
  7. Got ‘Til It’s Gone (feat. Q-Tip & Joni Mitchell)
  8. Together Again
  9. I Get Lonely
  10. Go Deep
  11. What’s It Gonna Be (with Busta Rhymes)
  12. Doesn’t Really Matter
  13. All For You (Single Version)
  14. Someone To Call My Lover
  15. All Nite (Don’t Stop)
  16. Call on Me (with Nelly)
  17. Feedback (Single Version)
  18. Make Me
  19. Make Me (Bimbo Jones Radio Edit)

Janet Jackson Medley (American Idol Performance)

Make Me

Best of Number Ones

  1. What Have You Done For Me Lately
  2. Nasty
  3. When I Think of You
  4. Miss You Much
  5. Escapade
  6. Alright (7″ House Mix with Rap)
  7. That’s The Way Love Goes
  8. Together Again
  9. Doesn’t Really Matter
  10. All For You
  11. Make Me
  12. Nothing

Nothing (From “Why Did I Get Married Too?”) – Single + Music Video


Submit a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s